By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies. AIUM uses cookies to provide you with a better user experience and to help our website run effectively. See our Privacy Policy for more details.
AIUM Names Award Winners
April 19, 2021
The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) is proud to recognize the following doctors, researchers, sonographers, and educators as its 2021 class of national award recipients. These individuals are being recognized by the AIUM for their leadership, innovation, and contribution to medical ultrasound. This year’s award recipients were honored during the AIUM Annual Meeting.

William J. Fry Memorial Lecture Award
Bryann Bromley, MD, FAIUM

Joseph H. Holmes Basic Science Pioneer Award
Kullervo H. Hynynen, MSc, PhD, FAIUM

Joseph H. Holmes Clinical Pioneer Award
Peter M. Doubilet, MD, PhD, FAIUM

Distinguished Sonographer Award
Katherine K. Minton, MA, RDMS, RDCS, FAIUM

Peter H. Arger, MD, Excellence in Medical Student Education Award
Harvey L. Nisenbaum, MD, FACR, FAIUM, FSRU

Carmine M. Valente Distinguished Service Award
Frederick W. Kremkau, PhD, FACR, FAIMBE, FAIUM, FASA

Honorary Fellow Award
Dirk Timmerman, MD, PhD, FRCOG, FAIUM (hon)

Memorial Hall of Fame
Alex A. Bezjian, MD, FAIUM
Karen J. Ophir, BS, RDMS
Philippe Jeanty, MD, PhD, FAIUM
Harvey L. Nisenbaum, MD, FACR, FAIUM, FSRU

Memorial Recognition
L. E. Schnitzer, BA, RT, RDMS, RDCS, RVT
Michel Claudon, MD, FAIUM (hon)
Elias Kazam, MD

The following awards were also presented:

Presidential Recognition Award
Richard A. Hoppmann, MD, FACP, FAIUM (2021)
Mike Wagner, MD, FAIUM (2021)
Bruce Totaro, ELS (2021)
Vivek S. Tayal, MD, FACEP, FAIUM (2021)
Anthony Edward Samir, MD, MPH, FAIUM (2021)
Oliver Daniel Kripfgans, PhD, FAIUM (2021)
Eitan Dickman, MD, FAIUM, FACEP (2020)
Therese Cooper, BS, RDMS (2020)
Srikar R. Adhikari, MD, MS, FAIUM (2020)
John Stephen Pellerito, MD, FACR, FAIUM, FSRU (2020)

View all AIUM Awards including past award winners here.